New Additions to ISTS Library and Archives

The Institute for Small Town Studies Library and Archives is pleased to announce
the recent donation of seven full sets of back issues of Small Town, the bi-monthly journal
published by the Small Towns Institute of Ellensburg, Washington, between 1969 and 2001.

The Small Towns Institute was founded by anthropologists Clayton and Anne Denman in 1969
"to provide horizontal information sharing across disciplines working in small town studies." The
Denman's directed the non-profit organization until the 1980s, when Kenneth Munsell, a historian
at Central Washington University, began as director. The Small Towns Institute closed in 2001.

Small Town was a publication designed "to help small communities keep in contact with
new ideas for development and revitalization of both social and business institutions. It
served as a forum for discussion of ideas and problems, presenting a wide range of
views from readers and researchers, as well as the opinions of the editorial staff."

ISTS would like to thank Anne Denman, who was instrumental in securing
this important collection of resources for scholars in small town studies
working at the Institute for Small Town Studies Library and Archives.

If you have materials you would like to donate
to the ISTS Library and Archives please contact
our Director, Robert Dorgan at:

return to the ISTS Ways to Contribute page
© 2006 The Institute for Small Town Studies